The Hexadecimal (Hex) is a number system with base of 16. Sixteen distinct symbols are used for its representation. The numbers 0-9 to represent the values from zero to nine and A, B, C, D, E, F is used to represent the values from 10 to 15.

Following is the table for first 16 Denary numbers with equivalent binary and Hex numbers.

Conversion from Hexadecimal to Denary

Conversion from hexadecimal to denary is similar to conversion from binary to denary, except the expansion is in powers of the base 16, instead of powers of 2.

In base sixteen (hexadecimal), starting from right side you have columns or “places” for 160 = 1, 161 = 16, 162 = 256 and so forth.

Let’s consider Hexadecimal number 5C

In the above table you can see that C in Hexadecimal is equal to 12 in Denary system. Now using place values we can convert 5C to denary as follow:

5 x 16) + ( 12 x 16)

5 x 16 ) + ( 12 x 1 )

80 + 12 = 9216

Conversion from Denary to Hexadecimal

Converting denary numbers to hexadecimal is simple: just divide by 16 and repeat the division process until a value less than 16 is obtained.

For example, let’s convert the denary number 6542 to hexadecimal.

Put the remainders in reverse order to get the hexadecimal number: 198E.

Remember the number 14 is equal to E in hexadecimal system.


It is really helpful, could be better if questions are given as well! Well regards.

Add new comment